

## Canadian Currency

## **Current Notes**











## **Incoming \$5 Note**

As Viola Desmond is now featured on the \$10 note, another iconic Canadian will be featured on the future \$5 note. The finalists are Pitseolak Ashoona, Robertine Barry, Binaaswi (Francis Pegahmagabow), Terry Fox, Lotta Hitschmanova, Isapo-muxika or Sahpo Muxika (Crowfoot), and Onondeyoh (Frederick Ogilvie Loft). The Minister of Finance will announce the government's decision on who will ultimately appear on the new \$5 note in due course.

Canada's first Prime Minister, Sir John A. MacDonald, and our first francophone Prime Minister, Sir Wilfrid Laurier, will be honoured on our higher value bank notes. This will take place when the higher value notes are re-designed for the next series.

These changes mean that former Prime Ministers William Lyon Mackenzie King and Sir Robert Borden will no longer be portrayed on bank notes. The \$20 denomination will continue to feature the reigning monarch. This design approach affords the opportunity to showcase and celebrate more great Canadians, while maintaining our proud historic roots.