

The Canadian Order of Precedence



Her Excellency The Right Honourable Mary May Simon Governor General



The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau Prime Minister



The Right Honourable Richard Wagner *Chief Justice*



The Honourable Raymonde Gagné Speaker of the Senate



The Honourable Greg Fergus Speaker of the House of Commons

- 1. Governor General
- 2. Prime Minister
- 3. Chief Justice
- 4. Speaker of the Senate
- 5. Speaker of the House of Commons
- 6. Ambassadors and High Commissioners
- 7. Members of the Canadian Ministry
- 8. Leader of Her Majesty's Loyal Opposition
- 9. Lieutenant Governors of Canada
- 10. Queen's Privy Council for Canada
- 11. Premiers of the Provinces of Canada
- 12. Commissioners of the Territories
- 13. Premiers of the Territories
- 14. Representatives of faith communities
- 15. Puisne Judges of the Supreme Court
- 16. Chief Justice and Associate Chief Justice of the Federal Court
- 17. Chief Justices of the Provincial Superior Courts

- 18. Judges of Canada
 - a. Judges of the Federal Court
 - b. Puisne Judges of the Provincial Superior Courts
 - c. Chief Judge of the Tax Court
 - d. Associate Chief Judge of the Tax Court
 - e. Judges of the Tax Court
- 19. Senators
- 20. Members of the House of Commons
- 21. Consuls General of countries without diplomatic representation
- 22. Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to Cabinet
- 23. Chief of the Defence Staff and Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police
- 24. Speakers of the Provincial Legislative Assemblies
- 25. Members of Provincial Executive Councils
- 26. Judges of Provincial and Territorial Courts
- 27. Members of the Provincial Legislative Assemblies
- 28. Chairperson of the Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians