CanadaInfo Navigator Bar

Provincial Government

Government in Canada is constitutionally divided into federal and provincial jurisdictions. It also provided for the possibility of the provincial or territorial governments to delegate some of its responsibilities to a municipal government.


Provincial government in Canada is responsible for property and civil rights, administration of justice, natural resources and the environment, education, health, and welfare. Each province's government structure may be slightly different from each other, but the fundamentals are identified in the chart below. The main differences are:
  1. in the legislative branch, just one house instead of two (styled the Legislative Assembly, House of Assembly, or National Assembly, depending on the province);
  2. in the executive branch, different names for the Provincial Heads of State (Lieutenant Governor instead of Governor General) and Heads of Government (Premier instead of Prime Minister); and
  3. in the judicial branch, various court structures for each province (the Ontario court structure is the one shown below).

See also
Provinces & Territories of Canada
Lieutenant Governors of Canada
Premiers of Canada
Provincial Judiciary System
Federal Government
Municipal Government

Copyright Craig I.W. Marlatt